The Lincoln Sky Knight's Club is an offshoot from the Aero-Design Hobby Shop’s U-Control Club on 14th and South which was owned by Mike Tillman and started around 1947.
Aero-Design was later bought by Ray Klone and moved to roughly 10th and G Street.
The offshoot Sky Knight Club was started in 1954 by Bill Johnson. Some of the first members were Bob Keenan, John Spencer, and Bill Johnson. Most of the early members were servicemen from the MAC Airbase which is now Airpark.
The first meetings were held in Bill’s living room and the club was involved in all aspects of modeling not just radio control. In 1957 the club went to radio control and had their first annual R/C contest May 14 & 15 in 1960 at the north gate of the Lincoln Air Force Base. The first flying site was located near the airbase south of highway 34.
LSK became an AMA chartered club (#405) and was incorporated in the great State of Nebraska in the 1950's.
In 1969 the club leased a site north of 35th & Superior Street where it remained for 27 years. The club was relocated to it's current location outside Waverly in 1996 due to Lincoln’s growth.
Our current location boasts a flying field on 20 acres, owned by the club. Our membership varies slightly year to year in the range of 140-180 members, and we have both gentleman and lady pilots of all ages. LSK hosts numerous events during the year, most of which are open to the public. Events range from competitions and demonstrations, to shows and aucutions.
The future? LSK's primary objective is to support model aviation. The club will continue to offer educational programs and demonstrations, and provide a safe flying site for members and guests to enjoy.